Kohima, February 27 (MTNews): A total of 11,550 Polling Personnel, which included 9,620 male and 1,930 women polling officials were involved in the 14th NLA General Elections on 27th February 2023.


Polling personnel returning from their duty in Wokha, February 27. (DIPR)


As per the information from the CEO Office a total of 386 polling stations, excluding 31 Akuluto AC that was uncontested, were manned by women polling officials. In Mokokchung, a total of 49 polling stations were manned by women polling officials.


Special Polling teams were also deployed district wise. Seven polling stations were managed by young employees that included 5 in Kohima, 1 in Wokha and 1 in Zunheboto. Three teams for People with Disability (PwD) were also deployed which included 1 each in Kohima, Zunheboto and Tuensang. A total of 39 model polling stations which included 3 in Dimapur, 2 in Chumoukedima, 4 in Kohima, 2 in Tsemenyu, 1 in Pughoboto, 5 in Phek, 10 in Mokokchung, 4 in Wokha, 1 in Mon, 4 in Tuensang, 1 in Shamator and 2 in Kiphire were also set up.


To keep a check on illegal activities such as booth capturing, illegal money distribution and bogus voting, it was informed that a total 1647 polling stations which included 1391 live webcasting polling stations and 256 offline videography were installed, which is about 71% coverage.


The Gross total Model Code of Conduct (MCC) Enforcement Teams involved in the general election was 1,844 officials out of which 306 were Sector Officers/Sector Magistrate, 942 Micro Observers, 169 Flying Squad teams, 180 Static Surveillance teams, 62 Assistant Expenditure Observers, 62 Video Surveillance teams, 62 Video Viewing teams and 61 Accountant teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *