The Agriculture Leadership Awards ‘Best State in Horticulture Award 2024’ was presented to the State of Nagaland for its outstanding work in introducing innovative programs and policies for horticulture development, which has positively touched the lives of a large number of farmers and the rural people in the State.

Minister for Women Resource Development & Horticulture, Salhoutuonuo Kruse received the award on behalf of the State, at the Agriculture Leadership Conclave this evening, July 10, at Hotel Holiday Inn, Aerocity, New Delhi.

Nagaland Horticulture
Nagaland Minister for Women Resource Development & Horticulture, Salhoutuonuo Kruse receiving the ‘Best State in Horticulture Award 2024’  from Nitin Gadkari, Minister of Road Transport & Highways, Government of India, in New Delhi on 10 July 2024.

Award background

The Agriculture Leadership Awards were established in 2008. The Agriculture Leadership Awards was instituted in 2008 for recognizing excellence and leadership roles played by individuals and organizations towards the development of Indian agriculture and bringing about rural prosperity. These awards are given annually to encourage and recognize the efforts that have made significant contributions in agriculture, livestock, social and rural development, and positively impacted the lives of millions of farmers.

The award has been given to the state of Nagaland considering the fact that horticulture sector is considered as the ‘Sunrise sector’ of the Nagaland State and its activities has enhanced the livelihood of the people and improved the economic conditions of the farmers, created farm diversification and employment opportunities while at the same time, ensuring nutritional security and ecological sustainability.

Nagaland’s achievements in horticulture

Nagaland received the ‘Best State in Horticulture Award 2024’ for its innovative programs and policies in horticulture development. According to an update received here, the key factors that led to Nagaland receiving this prestigious award are as follows:

G.I. Registration of Crops: The state achieved Geographical Indication (G.I.) registration for three horticultural crops: Naga Mircha, Naga Tree Tomato, and Naga Sweet Cucumber. This registration helps in protecting the unique identity of these crops and enhances their market value.

Formation of Farmer Producer Companies (FPCs): The Department of Horticulture has mobilized the formation of 13 Nos of FPCs and so far been able to bring an area of 6800 Ha under Organic Certification. The Department’s initiative has been fruitful in the recognition of the FPCs with several accolades at the National level for their contribution and success towards organic production of Pineapple, Kiwi and Large Cardamom.

Vegetable Villages: To increase food production and achieve self-sufficiency, Nagaland has initiated 100 vegetable villages, involving 10,000 households across the State.

Market Linkages and Air Cargo Services: The Department of Horticulture, Nagaland has initiated and launched the air cargo services in the State for entrepreneurs and traders and has been significantly promoting market linkages of horticulture products like Naga Organic Pineapple and Organic Kiwi to other parts of the country.

Cultivation of Exotic Crops: Nagaland is exploring the cultivation of exotic crops like kiwi, dragon fruit, avocado, and persimmon.

Horticulture Model Villages: The Department has introduced the concept of Horticulture Model Village wherein, One Crop One Village has been adopted in 16 villages across the State for an overall perspective and to boost the horticulture developmental activities in a holistic manner.

It may be mentioned that Nagaland won the same award during the 11th Global Agriculture Summit 2018 held at Hotel Hyatt Regency, New Delhi from October 24 – 25. The theme for the summit was “Connecting Farmers with Markets and Technologies.”

The summit was organized by the Agriculture Today Group.

“I am thrilled to receive the ‘Best State in Horticulture 2024’ award on behalf of the State government from the Agriculture Leadership Awards at the Agriculture Leadership Conclave on July 10 in New Delhi,” Kruse said after receiving the award.
“Nagaland has been honoured with this award for its exceptional efforts in introducing innovative programmes & policies that have significantly advanced horticulture development, benefiting farmers and rural communities across the state,” she added.


Meanwhile, according to sources, the Jury of the 15th Agriculture Leadership Awards, under the chairmanship of Justice P. Sathasivam, former Chief Justice of India and Governor of Kerala declared the list of Awardees, which includes 7 individuals, 5 States and 8 corporate and institutions.

The States of Maharashtra, Nagaland, Himachal, Haryana and J&K are being recognised for their outstanding work in agriculture, horticulture, food processing, animal husbandry and innovations, the country’s largest bank, SBI for development, Integral University for academics and IISR for sugarcane research.

The corporate include Coromandel, Mahadhan (DFPCL), Parijat, NTC Group and Shaktiman.

The individuals include, Dr KK Unni, doyen of India’s crop protection sector, Dr. Tarun Shridhar, former Secretary, GOI, Dr Poonam Malakondaiah, former ACS, GoAP, Dr Rahul Mirchandani, CMD, Aries Agro, Dr. Ramesh Mittal, renouned agribusiness expert, Sh. CS Bhadsavle, innovative farmer, and Mr. Muneer Khan, from Columbia University, USA.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *