Ricky Hinglak emerged as the champion in the Men’s Singles category after defeating Visasier Kevichusa in the final match of the 26th Nagaland Inter-District & State Table Tennis Championship 2023 which concluded on Thursday evening at the Multi-purpose Sports Complex in Mokokchung.

In the Women’s Singles category, Avitoli K Yepthomi clinched the championship title by defeating Kesinuo Dzuvichu.

The four-day tournament witnessed thrilling matches and showcased the prowess of Nagaland’s table tennis enthusiasts.

In the Inter-district team events, Kohima secured the women’s championship title, with Niuland finishing as the runners-up.

Mon emerged as the champions in the Men’s team event, and Kohima secured the runners-up position.

The closing ceremony was graced by Col. Rahul Gurung, Kirti Chakra, Commandant of the 12th Assam Rifles, serving as the Valedictory Patron. In his address, Col. Rahul Gurung expressed his optimism about the future of sports in Nagaland. He congratulated the winners and encouraged those who did not win not to be disheartened and urged the winners not to be complacent but to consistently work harder and aim for greater heights in the game. Drawing inspiration from legends like Milkha Singh and Mary Kom, he emphasized the keys to success: sincerity, willpower, dedication, and hard work.

The vote of thanks was offered by Aosunep Ozükum, the convener of the Organizing Committee, expressing gratitude to all participants, sponsors, and supporters who made the championship a success.

A total of 118 players from 14 districts of Nagaland participated in this year’s championship, including Mokokchung, Longleng, Mon, Kiphire, Phek, Tuensang, Shamator, Zunheboto, Wokha, Kohima, Dimapur, Niuland, Tseminyu, and Chümoukedima.

The tournament was hosted by the Mokokchung District Table Tennis Association (MDTTA) under the aegis of the Nagaland Table Tennis Association (NTTA).


Nagaland table tennis
Winners of the 26th Nagaland Inter-District & State Table Tennis Championship with officials



DATE: 23rd-26th October, 2023



Men’s Team Event
Winner Mon
Runners-Up Kohima
Women’s Team Event
Winner Kohima
Runners-Up Niuland
Men’s Singles Open
Winner Ricky Hinglak
Runners-Up Visasier Kevichusa
Men’s (Doubles) Open
Winner Vickey Kumar & Ricky Hinglak
Runners-Up Seyievilie & Kelhouravi Vivian Rutsa
Women’s Singles Open
Winner Avitoli K Yepthomi
Runners-Up Kesinuo Dzuvichu
Women’s Doubles Open
Winner Kesinuo Dzuvichu & Thejavinuo Rio
Runners-Up Pekrusenuo Yiese & Letsonuo Kire
Boys Under 19  (Singles)
Winner Ricky Hinglak
Runners-Up Mhasivi Miachieo
Boys Under 19  (Doubles)
Winner Ricky Hinglak & David Hinglak
Runners-Up Mhasivi Miachieo & Vilavoyuo Linyii
Girls Under 19 (Singles)
Winner Kesinuo Dzuvichu
Runners-Up Pekrusenuo Yiese
Girls Under 19 (Doubles)
Winner Pekrusenuo Yiese & Letsonuo Kire
Runners-Up Tania Kachari & Elita A Sangtam
Boys Under 15 (Singles)
Winner Mhasivi Miachieo
Runners-Up David Hinglak
Girls Under 15 (Singles)
Winner Elita A Sangtam
Runners-Up Sangmaitola
Veteran 40+ Men’s Singles
Winner Kevirilie Dzuvichu
Runners-Up Visasier Kevichusa
Veteran 50+ Men’s Singles
Winner Dr. Juthsutho Phoji
Runners-Up Tinumayang
Veteran Men’s Doubles
Winner Lhoulievi Belho  & James Liezietsu
Runners-Up Vitho Neikha & Dr. Juthsutho Phoji
Veteran Mixed Doubles
Winner Ihubuing & Avitoli K Yepthomi
Runners-Up Imsutongzuk & Satemmongla Yaden


Mokokchung Times 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *