Mokokchung, 28 March (MTNews): The Central government has extended the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958, in parts of Nagaland, declaring eight districts and 21 police stations as ‘disturbed areas’ for six months from 1 April 2023.

The eight districts are: Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek and Peren while the 21 Police stations are six police stations each in Zunheboto and Mokokchung districts; five police stations in Kohima; three police stations in Wokha; and Yanglok police station in Longleng district.

These 21 police stations comprise Khuzama, Kohima North, Kohima South, Zubza and Kezocha police stations in Kohima district; Mangkolemba, Mokokchung-I, Longtho, Tuli, Longchem and Anaki ‘C’ police stations in Mokokchung district; Yanglok police station in Longleng district; Bhandari, Champang and Ralan police stations in Wokha district; and Ghatashi, Pughoboto, Satakha, Suruhuto, Zunheboto and Aghunato police stations in Zunheboto district.

The Ministry of Home Affairs made this announcement, citing a review of the law and order situation. This extension follows a previous declaration in October 2023, covering similar areas. The AFSPA grants security forces the authority to make arrests without warrants and conduct searches without prior approval.

In another notification, the Union home ministry said the central government in exercise of the powers conferred by Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 had declared the Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts in Arunachal Pradesh and the areas falling within the jurisdiction of Namsai, Mahadevpur and Chowkham police stations in Namsai district of Arunachal Pradesh, bordering Assam as ‘disturbed area’ on Sept. 26, 2023.

One thought on “AFSPA extended for 6 months in parts of Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *