Kohima, 12 March (MTNews): The central government has launched a new portal for persons who are eligible for Indian citizenship under Citizenship Amendment Act-2019. People who want to apply can log on to indiancitizenshiponline.nic.in. Union Home Ministry will also launch a mobile app ‘CAA-2019’ to facilitate applications through mobile app. The government yesterday notified the Citizenship (Amendment) Rules, 2024 under the CAA-2019.

Northeast tribal areas exempt from CAA 2019 implementation
The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019, which came into effect on Monday, will not be implemented in most tribal areas in Northeastern states, including those granted special status under the 6th Schedule of the Constitution.

This means that the state of Nagaland will remain out of the purview of CAA 2019. The ILP is in force in Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur while the 6th Schedule covers autonomous tribal-dominated areas Assam, Meghalaya, and Tripura.

These include Karbi Anglong, Dila Hasao and Bodoland Territorial Council areas in Assam, Garo Hills in Meghalaya and tribal areas in Tripura.

The CAA seeks to grant citizenship to Hindus, Jains, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists and Parsis who came to India on or before December 31, 2014 from Bangladesh, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *