On Wednesday, Sonia Gandhi, the matriarch of the Congress party, submitted her nomination as the Congress candidate for the Rajya Sabha Biennial polls from Rajasthan. Alongside her, the Congress has nominated Abhishek Manu Singhvi from Himachal Pradesh, Chandrakant Handore from Maharashtra, and Akhilesh Prasad Singh from Bihar for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

sonia gandhi

Sonia Gandhi’s decision to contest for the Rajya Sabha marks a significant transition as she steps down from the Lok Sabha after serving for 25 years. Her electoral journey began in 1999 when she contested from Amethi in Uttar Pradesh and Bellary in Karnataka, both of which she won.

After defeat in Amethi, Raebareli was next: BJP reacts

The BJP reacted strongly to Sonia Gandhi’s decision to join the Rajya Sabha, calling it an “admission of defeat” ahead of the Lok Sabha elections. BJP’s IT department head Amit Malviya said in a post on X that the move was her admission of defeat.

“After Congress’ crushing defeat in Amethi, Rae Bareli was next. Sonia Gandhi’s decision to opt for Rajya Sabha is an admission of a looming defeat,” he wrote on X.

Union Minister Giriraj Singh suggested that Sonia’s decision indicated fatigue within the Congress party. If elected, Sonia Gandhi would follow in the footsteps of her mother-in-law, Indira Gandhi, who served in the Rajya Sabha from 1964 to 1967.

The Raebareli Years
The Raebareli constituency was held by Sonia Gandhi since 2004 with consistent victories never polling below 55 per cent. Despite facing defeats in national elections, she managed to secure victory in Raebareli, even in 2014 and 2019 when the Congress was routed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s BJP. Her departure from the electoral arena leaves significant shoes to fill for the Congress party in this crucial constituency.

Mokokchung Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *