Kohima, March 9 (MTNews): The Nagaland State Election Commission has on 9 March notified the ‘Election Program’ to conduct the general election to constitute three Municipal Councils and thirty-six Town Councils on 16 May with 33 percent seat reservation for women.


Nagaland State Election Commissioner, T Mhabemo Yanthan, stated in the notification that the dates for filling of nomination will be from 3 to 10 April, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature will be 24 April. Re-poll, if any, will be conducted on 18 May, while counting and declaration of results will be done on 19 May.


See table for detailed schedule of the Election Program.




Electoral Roll


The notification stated that the electoral rolls for the ensuing election to the municipal and town councils have been prepared with 1 January 2022 as the qualifying date and published on 24 November 2022. Copies of the Electoral Roll can be had from the respective Returning Officers of the Municipal Council and Town Councils, it was informed.



Identification of Voters


In order to safeguard against personation, it was informed that the State Election Commission has decided that compulsory identification of the voters will be made in the ensuing general election to the Municipal Councils and Town Councils in the state. The notification further stated that separate instructions will be issued in this regard.


Model Code of Conduct


The State Election Commission further informed that with the announcement of the Election Program, the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) will come into force within the entire Municipal and Town Councils areas going to polls with immediate effect. It was informed that the MCC will be applicable to all candidates, political parties in the state and the state government machinery.


Chairperson of DMC, 12 town councils reserved for women


The State Election Commission further informed that the office of the chairperson of the 3 municipal councils and 36 town councils will be reserved for women on rota.


Likewise, out of the 3 municipal councils and 36 town councils, the chairperson of Dimapur Municipal Council has been reserved for women, while the chairpersons of the town councils of Atoizu, Chiephobozou, Kiphire, Longleng, Meluri, Naginimora, Peren, Pungro, Shamator, Tizit, Tuensang and Zunheboto has been reserved for women.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *