Most candidates from Eastern Nagaland, responding to a general call for poll abstention led by the Eastern Nagaland People’s Organization (ENPO), have withdrawn from the upcoming June 26 urban local body (ULB) elections in Nagaland. On June 15, an additional 19 candidates withdrew—17 from Shamator Town Council and 2 from Pungro Town Council—according to updates from the State Election Commission (SEC).

This brings the total number of withdrawals to 53 out of 61, leaving only 8 candidates in the race. As per reports, it is expected that all remaining candidates from the ENPO area will withdraw by the June 20 deadline for nomination withdrawals.

Congress candidate withdraws from DMC race
A Congress candidate for the elections to the Dimapur Municipal Council (DMC) withdrew her candidature on June 17 from the reserved DMC Ward 7. According to reports, the Congress candidate Kanili Kinilimi, a resident of Sema Tilla, was allegedly enticed to withdraw from the race after being offered a ‘nominee seat’ in the DMC and cash by the BJP. The BJP has set up Aghatoli Y Tuccu in Ward 7.

Independent candidate withdraws from MMC poll
An Independent candidate for the elections to the Mokokchung Municipal Council (MMC) from Lijaba Lijen Ward is reported to have decided to withdraw his candidature from the race. According to reliable sources, the Independent candidate, Imtimeren, will formally withdraw his candidature on June 18. With the withdrawal of the Independent candidate, the NDPP candidate from Lijaba Lijen Ward, Wabang Kichu, will become the unopposed candidate from the ward.

The NDPP has already secured four uncontested presumptive victories in the run-up to the ensuing MMC elections, namely Maongtula Longchar of Alempang Ward, Imtiyapang of Aongza Ward, Imkongchuba A. of Dilong Ward, and Walunila of Penli Ward.

Mokokchung Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *