The Congress on Saturday released its first list of 21 candidates for the Nagaland assembly polls, fielding its state unit President K Therie from Dimapur-I.


The list was released following a meeting of the AICC Central Election Committee, which was chaired by party President MallikarjunKharge in Delhi.


“The Central Election Committee (CEC) of Congress has selected the following candidates for the ensuing elections to the Legislative Assembly of Nagaland,” a press release received here from AICC said.


Among the other candidates in the party’s first list, two candidates have been fielded for Mokokchung – S Supongmeren Jamir at 25 Mongoya A/C and Toshipokba at 26 Aonglenden A/C.


Watimongba Aier, president of the District Congress Committee Mokokchung, told Mokokchung Times that the second list will be announced on Monday. Aier also stated that more candidates from Mokokchung are expected to join the list.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *