Will the NDPP-BJP continue to hold on to power once the election results are announced on Thursday? Which parties will ultimately become the kingmakers? These are the questions that will be answered when the results of the Assembly elections are announced on Thursday although all exit polls predict the ruling parties to sweep Mokokchung district.


Nevertheless, what is remarkable in Mokokchung district are the events that occurred in certain constituencies where candidates were projected to be in a tight race, violence was witnessed, and issues of consensus candidates arose.


These are the five constituencies that all observers will be keenly following:


30 Alongtaki AC


The incumbent MLA from 30 Alongtaki AC is Temjen Imna Along, BJP State President and Minister of Higher and Technical Education. Er J Lanu Longchar, a Janata Dal United (JDU) ticket holder who worked as a government employee before entering politics this year, is his opponent. People believed that he is one of the most formidable challengers and has put the BJP Minister on the defensive.


Therefore, whether the fresh candidate actually served as a challenge to the BJP leader or not will be a fascinating watch. It may be recalled that Temjen Imna Along won the last election in 2018 with a close margin of just 86 votes.


28 Koridang AC


Election-related violence has been reported in the 28-Koridang assembly constituency over the course of multiple elections, and it has a history of being a restive constituency. The constituency kept up with its violent history even this year, as evidenced by the death of Imkongjeba, 34, of Chungtia village, arms seizure in Alichen and other poll-related violence.


Imkong L Imchen of the BJP, T Chalukumba Ao of the JD (U), Maj. (Rtd.) Toshikaba of the NPF, and an Independent candidate Talitsüba competed in the 28-Koridang assembly constituency.


Nonetheless, the rivalry leading up to the event has now fully escalated into BJP vs NPF. The question of whether senior politician Imkong L Imchen will hold his position or whether the fresh candidate, the retired Major, will unseat the experienced politician keeps the stakes high for this constituency.


27 Angetyongpang AC


Following a contentious Court battle over the consensus candidate in Mongsenyimti village, it was clear that the NDPP’s Tongpang Ozukum and the NPP’s S Maongkaba Ozukum would face off.


The violence between the two supporters on February 24 was expected and the paper war between the two parties spoke a lot about their rivalry.


However, it will be interesting to see if the battle between the two of them gave the third Independent candidate, Er K Wati, a slight advantage.


23 Impur AC


The untimely demise of the incumbent NDPP MLA from the constituency just weeks ahead of the election disturbed the balance in this constituency. Following this, the three-time candidate TN Mannen was at one stage poised to emerge elected-unopposed after he was given the NDPP ticket. However, new entrant Bendangkokba entered the race on an Indian National Congress ticket ensuring a straight contest between them to represent the assembly constituency that produced Nagaland’s first chief minister.


After unsuccessfully contesting in three elections, losing the last election with a narrow margin, all eyes are on TN Mannen if he’ll be fourth time lucky.


22 Arkakong AC


Imnatiba is the NDPP ticket holder and incumbent MLA in 22 Arkakong. Despite the NDPP-BJP alliance, the entire rank and file of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Mokokchung district’s 22-Arkakong Mandal resigned and joined the National People’s Party (NPP) on February 7. As a result, whether Imnatiba can hold his ground or whether his opponent, Nuklutoshi of NPP sweeps him away will be fascinating to watch.


It is even more fascinating because Nuklutoshi was among the BJP ticket seekers at the time when candidates were seen squabbling for the BJP ticket across the state.


Mokokchung Times

22 thoughts on “Nagaland Election 2023: 5 key constituencies to follow in Mokokchung”
  1. This is very interesting, You are an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to in the hunt for more of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks

  2. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  3. I was extremely pleased to discover this web site. I wanted to thank you for your time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to check out new things on your website.

  4. Hey there I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I dont have time to read through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome jo.

  5. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice procedures and we are looking to swap solutions with other folks, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *