Mokokchung, February 26 (MTNews): Nagaland will go to elections in 59 of the 60 Assembly Constituencies on Monday under a massive security measure.
Polling will be held from 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM without any break in the state while counting of votes will be on March 2.


Polling officials after collecting the EVM Machine, VVPAT and other necessary materials are seen here moving out to their respective polling stations in Mokokchung on Sunday, February 26 for the general election to the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly to be held tomorrow, February 27. (Photo: DPRO Mokokchung)


Nagaland Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) V Shashank Shekhar said that over 11,500 polling officials accompanied by security personnel have already reached 2,315 polling stations in 59 Assembly constituencies.


According to the election officials, around 13 lakh voters, including 6,55,144 women will decide the electoral fate of 183 candidates, including four women candidates in Monday’s elections.


To ensure a free, fair and incident-free election, the Union Home Ministry, at the request of the state government, has provided 305 companies of Central Armed Police Force, while the state security forces have also been deployed across the state.


In all, 12 political parties comprising national and state parties as well as Independents are in the fray.


BJP candidate Kazheto Kinimi was re-elected unopposed from the Akuluto assembly constituency after his only opponent and Congress candidate Khekashe Sumi withdrew his candidature on the last day of the withdrawal of nominations on February 10.


The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) is contesting the election in 40 assembly constituencies while its partner the BJP has fielded candidates for 20 seats.


The Congress, which ruled the state till 2003 has fielded 23 candidates, while the Naga People’s Front is contesting 22 seats.


The RJD, Ram Vilas Paswan faction of the LJP, National People’s Party headed by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma, and the NCP are also in the fray. A total of 19 candidates are also contesting as Independents.


Meanwhile, Meghalaya is all set for polling in 59 of the 60 assembly seats where more than 21.6 lakh voters will seal the fate of 369 candidates on Monday, as the ruling National People’s Party will fight to retain power, while the BJP and Trinamool Congress will attempt to unseat the incumbent government from power.


Chief Electoral Officer F R Kharkongor said preparations for conducting a free, fair and peaceful election have been completed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *