Mokokchung, 28 February (MTNews): The Tenyimi Union Dimapur (TUD) and Eastern Nagaland Peoples Union Dimapur (ENPUD) had a meeting with regard to the recent incident that took place on 9 February 2024 between Diezephe and Tsithrongse Village due to land boundary dispute.

A press release received here said that the two apex bodies after a marathon dialogue set up a committee under the banner “Peace committee for Diezephe & Tsithrongse Village” to resolve their 35-year-long dispute. It was mentioned that the members unanimously selected both the apex union Presidents Mr Vekhosayi Nyekha and Mr L Shahoto Yimkhiung as Convenor and Co-covenor for the Peace Committee along with 5-member representatives from both unions.

“On setting up the committee, representatives from both the union had visited both the villages on 14/02/2024 for consultative meeting to which both villages had consented to give written endorsement to the Peace Committee to bring final and amicable solutions to their yearlong pending disputes,” stated the press release issued by Er Caleb Kent, Member Secretary, Peace Committee.

It was also further decided that 5 members each from the two villages will be part of the committee.

The Peace Committee therefore appealed to both the villages to maintain the status quo as per government order until the matter is amicably resolved for final agreement, it was informed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *