Kohima, February 28 (MTNews): The Chief Electoral Officer, Nagaland has informed that arrangements for vote counting centers have been made in all the 16 districts which are to be held on 2 March starting from 8:00 AM onwards.


It was informed that in addition to the already deployed General Observers, the Election Commission will be deploying Counting Observers to oversee the counting center arrangement as well as to monitor all activities relating to the counting of votes.


Besides, the CEO informed that all arrangements have been made to deploy the counting personnel including Supervisors, Assistants, Micro Observers and Tabulators.


It was informed that the votes will be counted in different allotted numbers of tables according to the Assembly Constituency wise in segments and that the counting venue will be held in different locations with tight security.


The counting centers in Peren and Pughoboto will be in the ADC Office complex, Zunheboto in Town hall / Badminton Hall , Wokha in Tiyi Hall, and Tuensang in CKS /SIRD Hall. Vote counting in the rest of the 11 districts will be held in their respective Deputy Commissioner’s Office complex, it was informed.


On the day of counting, Strong Room will be opened and polled EVMs will be brought to the counting room in the presence of candidates, RO and Observers under Videography and CCTV coverage under security, it was informed.


It was also informed that media persons with authority letter issued by the Election Commission of India may be allowed access into the counting centers, adding that terms and conditions for the use of authority letter must be adhered to by any assigned officials including media persons during counting of votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *