2nd phase list including intending candidates from Mokokchung and Zunheboto to be announced on February 5


Kohima, February 3 (MTNews):The Naga People’s Front (NPF) has released the first phase list of intending candidates for the ensuing Nagaland Assembly Elections on Friday.
The first phase list contains 16 intending candidates of the party including the leader of the NPF legislature party, Kuzholuzo Azo Nienu, who will be contesting from his home constituency, 19 Phek A/C.


Speaking at the NPF ticket distribution ceremony cum party manifesto launch at the NPF Central office in Kohima, Nienu said that the party “surprisingly” received a lot of applications.
He said that after much deliberation for the “winnabilities” the party has decided to “field little with the best results, instead of fielding many with the worst results.”


He said the party believes in utilizing their funds judiciously “so that we get more winnable candidates instead of more candidates to contest these elections.”
Nienu asserted, “We will make sure that the NPF is in the government.”


“The question of being in the opposition does not arise. We will surely be the kingmaker in the formation of the next government because today lot of parties is taking part,” he said. “No party will get absolute majority,” he predicted, adding that the NPF will be “100% a part of the next formation of government.”
He said that the party had adopted a “pre-poll understanding for post-poll alliance.”


NPF President, Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu distributed the party tickets to the intending candidates where all except Yangdipi Sangtam of 52 Longkhim Chare A/C were present at the ticket distribution ceremony.


The second phase list according to Nienu will be announced on the 5th of February which will include intending candidates from Mokokchung and Zunheboto.


Some highlights of the party seat allocation includedthe Northern Angami-I A/C, a regional party bastion, where NPF president Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu’s son Khriehu Liezietsu has been named; the party secretary general Achumbemo Kikon will be contesting again against Mmhonlumo Kikon in Bhandari constituency while Kingudi Joseph is the NPF nominee to contest against former chief minister and NDPP candidate TR Zeliang in Peren.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *