In a wave of uncontested elections, several candidates have been declared winners in the upcoming town council elections across Tuli, Mangkolemba, and Changtongya in Mokokchung District.

In Tuli Town Council, six seats out of 9 were filled without opposition. Among these six, 3 were of Congress, two NDPP and One BJP.

The candidates who won unopposed are – Shilutila (BJP) from Ward No.; Imlionen (INC) from Ward No. 5; Temsumenba (INC) from Ward No. 6; Chubarenla (NDPP) from Ward No. 7; K. Imlitemjen Jamir (INC) from Ward No. 8; and Alemchuba (NDPP) from Ward No. 9.

In Mangkolemba Town Council, independent candidate A. Meren Walling of Luyong Ward secured an uncontested victory out of the nine available seats.

For Changtongya Town Council, which has 11 seats, two were claimed by NDPP candidates uncontested: A. Chubanokdang from Antsutzubo Ward and Imkummeren from Longpangtsung Ward.

Reacting to the victories in Tuli Town Council, the Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) communication cell expressed gratitude to the electorate for their support of the party candidates. This follows a significant mandate in favor of the party during the recent Lok Sabha polls held in April.

“We gratefully welcome the vote of confidence and anticipate many more such victories throughout the State during the upcoming Urban Local Body Elections,” the NPCC stated. The party also extended best wishes to the newly elected councillors, looking forward to the positive changes they are expected to bring to their wards and town.

Mokokchung Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *