Kohima, 20 March (MTNews): The first session of the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) began today at the NLA Secretariat, Kohima where Protem Speaker, Mhathung Yanthan administered the oath to 59 Members of the NLA. This was also the first session of People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) -2 government with Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio as the Leader of the House and will be a weeklong session.



Sharingain Longkumer was elected unopposed as the Speaker of NLA on Monday, March 20.


During the first legislative assembly session of the new government, obituary reference was made to the passing away of Late Dr Imtiwapang Aier, former Member of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly who expired on 7 January 2023.


Former Speaker and also the youngest legislator, aged 42 years, Sharingain Longkumer was unanimously elected unopposed as the Speaker of the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly. Chief Minister Rio congratulated Longkumer on being elected as the Speaker of the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly and stated that with his qualification and experience, Longkumer will be able to discharge the functions of the Speaker in a commendable and honorable manner and guide the government.



CM Rio addressing the 1st session of the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly, March 20.


Thanking Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and the Members of the 14th NLA for their support, Longkumer assured all that he would carry out his duties and responsibilities with diligence, dignity, honor, and perform with the highest degree of efficiency, integrity, and impartiality, protecting the rich traditions and high standard of the August House.


The newly elected Speaker also sought the support of the Chief Secretary, Nagaland, and the civil administration, in the routine and official discharge of the duties and responsibilities, in the service and welfare of the people. He also urged the members to join and contribute by bringing up issues of public concern.


Longkumer was first elected to the post of Deputy Speaker of the 13th NLA on 18 October 2019 and later elected unopposed to the post of Speaker on 7 February 2020.


Nagaland Governor La. Ganesan will deliver his maiden address in the House tomorrow, while Chief Minister Rio, who is also in-charge of Finance, will present the budget 2023-24 on 27 March. The session will conclude the next day with the passing of the budget.


The present strength of the state Assembly comprises of NDPP – 25, BJP – 12, NCP – 7, NPP – 5, LJP (Ram Vilas), Naga People’s Front (NPF) and RPI (Athawale) – 2 each, JD (U) – 1 and Independent – 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *