LKM observes Foundation-cum-Literary Day


Mokokchung, June 23 (MTNews): The Langpangkong Kaketshir Mungdang observed its Foundation-cum-Literary Day celebration at Anü Mai Amphitheater, Chuchuyimlang based on the theme ‘Clean Election’ on Wednesday with president of Watsü Mungdang, S. Arenla Longkumer, as special guest.


President of Watsü Mungdang, S Arenla Longkumer, third from right, with Langpangkong Kaketshir Mungdang officials at Anü Mai Amphitheater, Chuchuyimlang during the LKM Foundation-cum-Literary Day celebration on Wednesday, June 22.

Addressing the gathering, the Watsü President said that the pioneers who founded LKM in 1948 when times were difficult should be honoured and remembered for their role in forging Langpangkong unity. She also said that, as LKM prepares to celebrate its platinum jubilee in 2023, there needs to be retrospection and introspection in order to forge ahead. She also stated that students should take their studies seriously.



She also appreciated LKM for initiating the ‘Clean Election’ campaign, stating that LKM was the first students’ organization in Nagaland to initiate such a campaign and also added that ‘change’ would happen if AKM initiated the ‘Clean Election’ campaign in the whole of Ao areas. Citing examples from world history of how kings and rulers used young people to achieve their goals, where the young people lost everything including their lives while the kings and rulers gained everything, she encouraged the young people to be aware and to stand up for truth.



The day was also marked by two literary competitions. In the prepared speech competition, 13 affiliate units of LKM competed where Imsuinla of Asangma Kaketshir Telungjem was adjuged the winner. Tiaakum of Akhoya Shisaluyimer Telungjem and Marsongla of Salulamang Kaketshir Telungjem were adjudged the second and third place winners respectively. In the essay writing competition, 15 affilliate units participated where Temsusenla of Chakpa Kaketshir Telungjem emerged as the winner while Imkongmongla of Asangma Kaketshir Telungjem and Lanusungkum of Kangtsung Kaketshir Telungjem won second and third place respectively.



Proceedings of the day were led by LKM Information Secretary Meyitongpang. AKM Sports Secretary Moameren Pongen also greeted the gathering. ‘Ao Oshi Renlokdaktsütsü Toktep Ayongzük-II’ solo competition winner Taliyanger presented a special number while invocation and benediction prayers were pronounced by Sanepong Tzudir, APY Chuchuyimlang Baptist Arogo and Meringjung Kichu, APY Chuchu Town Baptist Arogo respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *