Sovima, 8 April (MTNews): Dimapur district won the Late G Rio Memorial Men’s U19 Inter-District Tournament for the third time at Nagaland Cricket Stadium on April 6, 2024 after defeating Niuland district by 1 wicket in a dramatic final match.

Dimapur defeated Niuland to win the 4th Late G Rio Memorial Men’s U19 Inter-District Tournament 2024

Niuland, after being put in to bat first in a highly anticipated final match, managed to score a par total of 133 runs, losing all wickets in 41.1 overs. Niuland had a tough time at the crease as they lost wickets at regular intervals.
Kundan scored 33 runs, Pawan scored 21*, and Kumar scored 17 runs, being the only notable batters who helped their team to post a respectable total.

For Dimapur, Dipu picked up 3 wickets, while Samir and Sundaram took 2 wickets each, and Deepak, Medempok Pongen, and Raj got a wicket each.

With a target of 134 to win, Dimapur had a great start as both openers, Dipu (21 runs) and Anirudh (44 runs), were comfortably scoring runs, and at one point, it seemed like the match would end early.

However, Niuland bowlers came back strong as they picked up the wickets of the set Dimapur batters. Shyerinlo scored 29 runs, and Samir Ali scored 20 runs to steady their innings before the former was caught and bowled by Jatin. With still 5 wickets in hand and 6 runs to win, Samir Ali also threw away his wicket after trying to hit a maximum to finish off the contest.

There was tension in the Dimapur dugout as they lost 3 wickets in quick succession, and they still needed another 6 runs to win with the last wicket at the crease.

At one stage, the match seemed to favor Niuland; however, Deepak and Medempok held onto their nerves and steered their team to victory.

The Closing Program and Prize distribution ceremony was graced by Sebastian Zumvü, Chairman, Village Council Sovima.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *