Phek, 4 November (MTNews): In commemoration of the 50th anniversary of Phek District, a one-day open road bicycle rally called ‘Rally for Phek’ was held today, which kicked off at Glory Peak in Pfutsero and culminated in Phek town. MLA Dr Neisatuo Mero, had the honor of flagging off the event.

Cycling enthusiasts and residents gathered at the picturesque Glory Peak to witness the grand kick-off of the rally. Dr Neisatuo expressed his enthusiasm, stating that the rally would see cyclists covering a symbolic 50-kilometer distance between Pfutsero and Phek, aligning with the 50th anniversary celebrations of Phek District.

In his address to the participants and onlookers, Dr Neisatuo shared his belief that this event would not only be a source of pride for the district but also promote a healthier and more eco-friendly mode of transport. He commended the presence of young cyclists, not only from Nagaland but also from across India, including national medalists. Their participation, he noted, would serve as both motivation and a challenge for all.

The MLA emphasized that cycling should be an integral part of sporting events in Phek and throughout Nagaland, highlighting its eco-friendly and pollution-free nature. He called upon participants to support and promote sports in the state, reflecting Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio’s strong interest in the field.

Furthermore, Dr Neisatuo lauded Pfutsero as an ideal location for promoting the tourism industry. He encouraged the Department of Tourism to consider launching more initiatives in the region to capitalize on its potential.

The prize distribution ceremony was graced by the presence of Kuko Mero, NCS, Deputy Commissioner of Phek, and  S Peter Trakha, the District Tourism Officer, who delivered speeches and distributed the awards.

The event concluded on a high note with a vote of thanks delivered by  Vezuhu Keyho, President of the Chakhesang Public Organization, leaving the audience inspired and motivated to continue celebrating and promoting the rich culture and sporting spirit of Phek District.

The rally had 43 participants who braved the 50-kilometer route.

In an exciting finish, the winners were announced as follows:

1st Place: Shiven with a time lapse of 1:50:54:23, awarded Rs 70,000.
2nd Place: Thotmachan with a time lapse of 1:50:55:58, awarded Rs 40,000.
3rd Place: Ronald with a time lapse of 1:50:56:70, awarded Rs 20,000.

In recognition of their efforts, 10 other participants received consolation cash prizes of Rs 5,000 each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *